Posted by: jacksterja | 4 February, 2009

Physician, Heal Thyself.

Today at work my dodgy shoulder was playing up. We were given new chairs the other day and I still haven’t managed to adjust mine into a comfortable position.

It got bad enough that I felt like I needed to resort to some sort of painkiller. Usually I avoid any sort of medication at work, whether it’s painkillers, allergy relief or even cold and flu tablets. My job requires a lot of focus and concentration and all those things tend to make me a bit loopy, so it’s the first time since I’ve been here that I’ve felt it necessary to do this. And I didn’t have anything suitable on me.

Of course, I do work slap-bang in the middle of a call centre full of nurses, so I stood up and asked if anyone had anything suitable.

Well, I swear you’ve never seen anything like it. Squirreled away in desks and bags and drawers of the dozen or so nurses sitting near me today was the most impressive array of drugs I’ve ever seen! People were literally pulling out multiple boxes of blister packs and offering me assortments of things I’ve never even hear of before!

It was pretty damn funny, I have to say.

I took a plain old Ibuprofen tablet, in case anyone’s wondering.

Leave a Reply

Categories

