Posted by: jacksterja | 3 November, 2008

Airborne Observations

Last Weekend was a Long Weekend in Melbourne and it was loads of fun. Whilst travelling there, however, I made a few observations at the airport and on the flight.

 

  1. The self-check. With the bag drop. Good in theory, but do they seriously think they’re fooling anyone that the system is any quicker? I just don’t get it. Sorry, I don’t.
  2. I wasn’t paying attention as I approached my departure gate, and It was too late when I realised that I had an Amex salesman directly in front of me and I’d unwittingly made eye contact. It took a bit, but I did manage to slip from the clutches. It did get me thinking, however, about the job of the airport salesperson. Who applies for a credit card at the airport? Who? Have you ever done it? I guess it must happen as the salespeople keep coming along, but I’m at a bit of a loss. I sat there watching for a while, but the poor guy couldn’t even seem to get anyone to stop, let alone apply for a card.
  3. I’d like to know why it’s so difficult to get a vegetarian meal on a flight. I wouldn’t have thought it would be that big a deal. But apparently you have to provide written notice 3 weeks prior to booking your flight, confirm every 14 hours until the flight, then cross your fingers and be prepared to settle for an apple and peanuts.
  4. On the other side of the coin, we did order a glass of wine each and it was before 4pm so you’re supposed to pay for it. I only had a $50 note so the flight attendant told me he’d bring change at the end of the flight. We were in the air, giving him very little opportunity to abscond with my change, so I said that was fine. At the end of the flight. He handed me my “change”; the same note. Because we looked nice, apparently (I’m guessing that was a nice way of saying there hadn’t been enough change taken on the flight to break it). Not a bad start to the holiday.
Leave a Reply

Categories

