Posted by: jacksterja | 23 September, 2008

Return of the Prodigal Blogger

Well, I’m still here and still alive. So much has happened since my last post that there’s no way I’m ever going to clear the backlog without resorting to some serious bullet point action…so here goes!
  • Went to Canberra to visit Sister P. We had a lovely time and drank cocktails and stayed out late and had dinner with cousin Nicola (picture 1, above) and went and saw an amazing exhibition at the National Museum and a quirky movie at the Swedish film festival, and (best of all) danced around the lounge room singing into remote control “microphones” until we got in trouble.
  • Went ot South Australia. after a quick stop off in Adelaide, NTB and I headed away (unexpectedly, due to Sandy being sick) for a romantic weekend alone in McLaren Vale. Mmmmm….wine! My favourite, in fact. It was lovely and unseasonably warm (I even managed sunburn!) We tried lots of wine and bought more than we probably should have…there mayhave been the odd issue trying to get it all home, despite shipping a couple of cases. (In our defense, some of it was for Ronene. I swear!). Sister P came and joined for the last night and I now have a new favourite wine…a big thing for me as I’ve had the same favourite for years. Since you’re doubtless wondering, I’m not protective. It’s called Primo Estate and it was truly amazing. The wine was outstanding. The staff were knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and generous. The setting and outlook were spectacular and the buildings stunning (even the parking lot, believe it or not.) There were seated tastings were sensational, with fresh baked bread, olive oil from the Estate and local cheese. Picture 2, above, should give you a bit of an idea.
  • Headed back to Adelaide to pick up sister Mel, her hubby Brownedog and my gorgeous nephew JD. We had family dinners on the Monday and Tuesday nights with my Grandmother and Grandfather (different sides) getting to meet their great grandson (I’m afraid the rest of us didn’t get quite the same level of attention!) See the other pic for an idea of just how cute little JD is.
  • Headed back home last week on my birthday!Yup, it came and went without a count-down. I’m afraid it hardly registered on my radar that it was even coming up. I managed a family pancake extravaganza for breakfast in Adelaide, before flying home. That night NTB and I were so exhausted we skipped celebrations in exchange for some great Indian home delivery and an outrageously good bottle of wine from Primo Estate (my present from NTB). Mmmmm…sometimes the no party tactic works! Meanwhile, I’ve managed a couple of other birthday celebrations over the past week to make up for it.
  • In case you were wondering, all this traipsing around seems to have done the trick for getting the leg back into shape. I’m basically back to normal, apart from a tiny bit of swelling still in my knee that’s fading fast. I finally made it back to the gym on the weekend. It was actually great to be back, after a couple of weeks being a blob on the couch I was worried I might struggle, but was glad to see I haven’t lost as much fitness as I’d feared.
  • Unemployment has been better and better. Unfortunately, I seem to have scored a contract starting next week. It’s only filling in until permanent recruitment happens, but should keep my out of mischief for a maximum of 3 months (with a trip to Malaysia in the middle, assuming my passport issues are resolved by then.)
  • On a smaller scale, I’m pretty impressed with myself that I managed to fix my washing machine this morning. Admittedly, it wasn’t all that broken. And I’d seen NTB take apart the pump and remove part of the blockage last night and I just had to do the same thing and finish the job by removing the offending fragment of rusty underwire). I had to use screwdrivers and everything!

God, there’s probably been heaps more, but I’m sure you’re turning cross-eyed by now! that brings us basically up to date. Hope you have been having as much fun as I have!

J.

Leave a Reply

Categories

