Posted by: jacksterja | 25 August, 2008

Proof

I was listening to the news on the radio the other morning. There was an item about the abysmal opinion poll results for the Australian leader of the Opposition, Brendan Nelson. Well and good, I’ve said before I have no intention of making this a political blog.

 

What did amuse me however, was a statement made by one of his colleagues. I didn’t write it down immediately, so I can’t say that it’s an exact quote, but it was something along the lines of “The poll results mean nothing. Favourites lose every Saturday at Randwick [a horseracing course]”

 

Ummm…what?

 

Sounds OK as a sound bit, but if you stop and think about it, I’m pretty sure that if the races at Randwick were won based on a vote the favourites would always win.

 

Ahh, political rhetoric. Don’t you just love it?

Leave a Reply

Categories

