Posted by: jacksterja | 4 July, 2008

The Cat’s Out of the Bag

Sorry for leaving everyone hanging yesterday. I have a good excuse, I really do. I only had my secret stuff sorted about 10 minutes before I had to run out the door for a doctor’s appointment, honestly.

Anyway, I’ll get to it. My job has been made officially redundant. Whilst that sounds like it could be a bad thing, it’s actually not at all. I’m currently in redeployment for a couple of weeks, but am not hopeful about my prospects of picking up a new role internally. This also sounds like a bad thing but is actually not a bad thing at all.

If I hit that point, what will happen is that my company, who I have worked for 9 and a half years, will have to pay me a retrenchment package. That is most definitely not a bad thing.

I’m very excited. For the first time since 1999 I will be unemployed and not a slave to the daily commute tempered by 4 weeks holidays per year. YAY!!! Plus I’ll have enough cash to not have to be too stressed out about finding work straight away.

So what will I do?

The basic plan was kind of already in place. NTB and have been discussing saving hard until the end of next year and then going travelling. This will definitely happen now, but without all the hard saving. For various reasons we can’t actually move this forward due to commitments.

My plan is to find some contracting work here and there to make sure the bills get paid between now and then. I should have a good deal of time on my hands in between contracts, however.

It’s such an interesting point in my life. I’ve worked for one company since I left University (admittedly in numerous different jobs and two different states), and I’m the first to admit I was totally in a rut. I’ve been looking to leave for a while (that’s what some of the more cryptic posts on here have been about), but nothing quite came along and grabbed me enough to leave. And now I can reinvent myself.

What shall I do with my time? Study? Concentrate on my fitness? Write that novel I’ve been thinking about doing forever? Do volunteer work? Train as a chef? Qualify as a personal trainer (ha!)? Become a magician’s assistant? Attempt a career at professional poker-playing?

I don’t have any idea how this is going to go. And I’m ok with that. What I do know, is that I’m going to enjoy finding out!

Leave a Reply

Categories

