Posted by: jacksterja | 19 June, 2008

Life Lessons From Rogaining

I know this probably could have gone in the last post, but it was getting a bit long, and well, I’m the writer and I decided to split them!

Anyway, whilst traipsing through the bush on Sunday, it did occur to me that there were a number of life lessons that can be expressed using Rogaining metaphors.

Here’s what I thought….other suggestions welcome!

  • Planning your path is a good thing
  • If you lose your way, your plan may have to change. Make sure you’re flexible enough to do this.
  • Sometimes things that look good on paper, aren’t the best idea when you get to actually doing them.
  • Sometimes things that look ridiculous on paper actually are a good idea when you get there.
  • A map is only as good as knowing where you are, and knowing where you’re going
  • Sometimes you need to know when to recognise you’ve failed in a goal, and move onto a new one.
  • You never know when you might have a chance to go back and do things right the second time around.
  • You can do more than you think you can, most of the time, if you actually give it a go
  • A team is only as fast as me its slowest member.
  • There is a time and a place for everything. Especially chocolate.

Have I missed anything obvious? I’m sure I had more on the day, but I did have plenty of time to think about it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

