Posted by: jacksterja | 10 June, 2008

Aliens Ate My Dishwasher!

OK, it’s a slightly sensational blog title. But I swear it’s true. Every word. Assuming you have a pretty loose definition of the word “aliens”. I’m warning you, if you have a nervous disposition you may want to stop reading here.

Remember how I mentioned last week that my dishwasher had died?

I organised the technician to come over and fix it and he was due to visit between 7am and 12 noon last Friday. (I think it’s astounding that tradespeople still assume that at least one member of a household still is usually home for a good chunk of the day…surely there’s a market out there for after-hours tradespeople? But I digress).

Firstly, to set the scene, I was supposed to have received a phone call half an hour before the repairman was due to arrive. I didn’t. And the buzzer went at just before 7.30am. Needless to say, I jumped out of bed quite shocked and had to throw on some clothes really quickly and was a little dopey when I let the technician in. Not to mention the fact that there was not yet any caffeine in my bloodstream.

Anyway, once I got through the shock of leaping out of bed in such a hurry, I managed to compose myself somewhat and explain the problem to the dishwasher repair dude.

He did what tech-dudes do, and decided to open it up and take a look.

It was then that the shock really happened.

It was aliens! Well, illegal German Cockroach aliens! Yuck! Gross! Foul! Ugh! Eeeeeeewwwwww!~!!!!

I hate cockroaches, and the inside and motor of my dishwasher was infested with them. they had gotten inside the front cover and had a lovely little community happening in there.

Needless to say, the spray came out and a massacre happened. I usually try to avoid killing any animals, even spiders and creepy-crawly creatures, but I felt no guilt about getting all homicidal on this particular occasion.

And if you think that’s  bad, this afternoon the exterminators are arriving. It’ll be cockroach genocide at my place tonight. **cue manic laughter here*

Responses

  1. Ugh… I hope you re-washed all your dishes… by hand… with bleach… and hydrochloric acid.

  2. gross….


Leave a Reply

Categories

