Posted by: jacksterja | 15 April, 2008

Update

  1. I’m busy. Doing fun stuff. Humour me.
  2. Cranky mood is gone.
  3. I had brown rice salad for lunch today. It was delicious. Witlof and yellow capsicum were the featured ingredients.
  4. How come you never notice when skills are getting rusty until you try to use them again? For various reasons, I’m working in Access today, which I haven’t been near in any meaningful way for just over 12 months. If you’d asked me this morning, I would have said this task would be a piece of cake. As I’m doing it, I’m finding it increasingly frustrated that I know what I want to do, but keep having to look up how to do it because I just don’t remember.
  5. If I start talking about my fire warden training today I’ll most definitely return to crankiness, so I won’t.
  6. Since I don’t have time to type up one of my recipes, here’s one David gave me recently that is insanely good. Hope you like it as much as I do!

 

Sweet Potato Rösti

With Goats Cheese

 

 

Prep: 20 minutes

Cook: 20 minutes

 

 

Ingredients

 

·         750g Sweet potatoes, peeled and grated

·         Olive oil, for frying

·         1 Small onion, finely chopped

·         1 Clove of garlic, finely chopped

·         200g Goats cheese (or any other, stilton also works well)

·         2 Small eggs, beaten

·         Salt and ground black pepper

 

Method

Squeeze the liquid out of the grated potato and place into a bowl. Lightly fry the onion and garlic in the oil, until they have softened and turned a golden colour. Add to the potato.

 

Add the eggs and half the cheese to the potato mix and season as required. Divide the mixture into six, and mould into cakes with your hands. Place the cakes onto a greased baking tray, and drizzle each with a little olive oil.

 

Bake in the oven at 210 degrees C for 20 minutes, or until they are golden brown and cooked through.

Remove from the oven and scatter the remaining cheese on top. Brown for 5 minutes under the grill, and serve immediately.

 

 

 

He he. I love that this is all in proper recipe format! You may have noticed that I tend not to cook like that and I therefore don’t seem to be able to write my recipes like that! For the record, it’s different when I’m baking.

Anyone else want to share? Favourite vego recipes? Requests for mine?

Leave a Reply

Categories

