Posted by: jacksterja | 4 April, 2008

Recipe – Brown Rice Salad

I think my cousin may have asked for this recipe at Easter, and I figured if I was typing it up anyway to send it to her, I may as well do it on here and share it with everyone!

This would have to be pretty much my favourite thing to make on a Sunday. You can throw together a big bowl and then take leftovers to work for lunch all week or use it as a side dish. It’s got so many things in it that are good for you and it’s filling and tasty and low-fat and just delicious. How can you go wrong?

Brown Rice Salad

Cook a couple of cups of Brown Rice (I prefer the medium grain, but I’ve used long grain and also a mix with wild rice before and they all work well) according to your preferred method. Set aside and let cool for a couple of hours – but don’t cover with cling wrap (a tea-towel works if you want to keep dust / bugs etc off)

Finely chop up other ingredients. My core things are:

  • Snow Peas
  • Red Capsicum
  • Fresh Coriander
  • Sliced Stuffed green olives
  • Spanish Onion or Spring Onions
  • Sprouts – I use home-grown lentil or mung bean sprouts. I don’t think alfalfa would be too great.
  • Currants

And other tasty stuff I use regularly includes:

  • Radish (red or long white)
  • Blanched Green Beans
  • Diced Carrot – raw or lightly sauteed in rice wine vinegar
  • Zucchini (grated works pretty well)
  • Raw turnip (be sure to peel first!)
  • Fine Chopped broccoli or cauliflower (raw again)
  • Celery (don’t overdo it or the salad ends up a bit bitter)
  • Sweet corn (fresh and sliced off the cob is preferable – microwave for a couple of minutes before adding. Or tinned also works)
  • Witlof

Throw everything together and toss. 

In a fry-pan dry roast (no oil required) a generous handful of crushed peanuts and another handful of sunflower seeds.

Serve the salad with the nuts on top (they get soggy if you put it all together too early, so I always keep the nuts separate until they’re served)

You can make your own dressing for this – and Asian style works best in my opinion. But to be honest, since I tried the Woolworths Brand Lime, coriander and chilli salad dressing I haven’t used anything else.

That’s it!

It’s basically a throw-together depending on what’s in the fridge. Last night I did a variation with bean mix instead of rice and it was pretty good too. We ate it with veggie sausages and dukkah-coated potatoes. Yum! Leftovers for lunch today were delicious also – I brought the dressing in a separate jar so the currants didn’t all swell up!

Responses

  1. Great recipe – I love brown rice salads, perfect for a healthy packed lunch! Check out this one I found – great with some chilli 🙂 http://whatrachelatetoday.blogspot.com/2008/03/brown-rice-salad.html

  2. Sounds, yummy, I know what I am cooking tonight!


Leave a Reply

Categories

