Posted by: jacksterja | 1 April, 2008

Big News!

I know things have been a little quiet on here lately. I’ve even hinted about some secret stuff I’ve had going on that I couldn’t quite share yet.

So there’s good news and there’s bad news about that.

So the good news is that I can finally tell everyone what’s been going on. It’s incredibly exciting for me, so I’ve had to keep a bit quiet on here in general just so I didn’t let slip.

OK, I’ll get to the point! After a lengthy and arduous (and way too boring for me to elaborate on here) process I’ve managed to secure funding for a little project I’ve been dreaming about and working towards for years. so as of the end of the month, I’ll be leaving my job and taking off to the Galapagos Islands to make a natural history documentary!!!!

Marine Iguana - Galapgos Islands

I know, it’s huge. And I’m sorry to have not been able to share. It was just that I a) didn’t want to have any chance of upsetting my current work whilst I was going through the grants application process until I actually knew there was something happening and b) I really couldn’t let myself believe it properly until it was confirmed because I would have been far too disappointed if it all fell through at the last minute.

“So what’s the bad news?” I hear you ask (or would if this whole blog medium was just a little more immediate and interactive). Well, I’m afraid, loyal readers, that where I’ll be filming there isn’t much in the way of internet access. If your definition of “not much” is exactly zero. That means this blog will be on hold for 6 to 12 months or so (more details when we’re a bit closer and the whole production schedule is worked out).

Oh my god. I’m so excited I can hardly stop from jumping up and down!!!

Anyway, I have a big day today, I need to resign and organise about a hundred million things, but I wanted to get on here and let everyone know first as I’m sure there won’t be another chance today.

I really have to go now, but promise full details of all the planning and lead-up over the next couple of weeks.

Wish me luck!!

J.

Responses

  1. I couldn’t possibly be more jealous of a total stranger. That sounds like an incredible adventure! Congratulations!

  2. OK…I admit it. As Jacki’s Mum I was totally taken in by April fools. Sure wish it was true Jacki. Got me good!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

