Posted by: jacksterja | 4 February, 2008

More migraine info

so much for me thinking that my migraine post was self-indulgent and unlikely to interest anyone other than myself. Turns out it was by far my most popular post ever.

After seeing that response and receiving such an interesting comment from JamesF, I decided to do a bit of research. Whilst I only mentioned the generic term “artificial sweetener” in the original post, if you count backwards to 2 years ago, you’ll notice that it coincided with the release of the new product “Coke Zero”, which was the same thing JamesF mentioned.

So I did what any curious person in my position would do: hopped online and googled.

Turns out there are literally hundreds of references to artificial sweeteners, particularly in soft drinks, causing horrendous migraines.

So for those of you out there who may not have put the pieces together, maybe this will help:

DIET SOFT DRINKS CAN CAUSE MIGRAINES

On the other hand, I haven’t had a diet soft-drink in a very long time, and certainly didn’t have one the other day. Nor did I have any of the other things I found listed as known triggers. Guess that one was a random that I couldn’t do anything about…and can’t avoid in the future. Sensational news.

Leave a Reply

Categories

