Posted by: jacksterja | 17 January, 2008

Silver Lining

I went to the RTA Office today to change my car’s registration to New South Wales (well, overdue, granted. But better late than never, I always say).

I thought it was going to be a fairly straightforward exercise, as I had previously rung up and made sure I had all the paperwork they said I would need, and then some, plus the numberplates off my car. I chose my time wisely and went in mid-morning to avoid the lunchtime crowd, and auspiciously was called up mere milliseconds after collecting my numbered ticket and before I had the chance to sit down.

Another millisecond later my heart sank as I spotted the “Trainee” badge underneath the name badge of the woman standing in front of me.

I’ll spare you the full whinge as it’s actually such a traumatic memory I’m in the process f blacking it out as we speak.

What truly saved me from surrender to lunacy was a simple observation.

Whenever the trainee got completely stuck (trust me, it happened several times) she called her supervisor. And the name of that supervisor in the RTA??

Why, Mercedes, of course.

tee hee hee!

Leave a Reply

Categories

