Posted by: jacksterja | 22 October, 2007

The Challenge

Wish me luck. I’m on a 3-day challenge.

Not spending a single penny for 3 whole days.

Sounds simple, huh? I have a fridge full of food and no social events planned, and am stocked up on basic toiletries.

But I won’t be able to buy

  • Breakfasts and lunches
  • After work drinks (don’t even ask me out)
  • I nearly tripped up twice today when I received emails with flights on sale and a DVD sale on-line.
  • No coffees.
  • No bottles of water or drinks (I’ve at least remembered to put my own refillable one in my bag today).
  • No clothes or shoes or bags or jewellery.
  • Nothing for anyone else, even (sorry if your birthday falls in the next couple of days).
  • Even my fortnightly Big Issue will have to wait until Thursday.

I think, to be fair, I’m going to avoid other people buying things for me, too. That’s a bit of a cop-out. The idea is to avoid purchases altogether.

Do you think this will be as easy as it sounds? Am I kidding myself and a hopeless consumer?

Wish me luck!

for the record, the fine print is just in case I get really sick and need medication or something really bad happens. Touch wood.

Leave a Reply

Categories

