Posted by: jacksterja | 9 October, 2007

Pots and Kettles

There’s an article in the paper today with Ian Brown (former Stone Roses singer) slagging off Kylie Minogue.

Now I’m not going to pretend I’ma  huge fan of Kylie Minogue’s music. It’s a little cheesy for my taste. But I will admit that she’s a professional and a hard-working performer. She’s reliable and consistent and puts on a good show for her fans, no matter what.

Ian Brown on the other hand…

I know there’s cult following out there somewhere that’ll probably give me hell over this, but here goes.

Just after new year in 2006 I was at a festival. There were some great acts there, some I’d heard of and some I hadn’t. I picked up a few new favourite bands that I’m quite partial to even now.

As you do at festivals, I wandered around to have a look at some of the acts that were on between sets by people I was waiting to see. At one point I wandered into a tent. There was some scruffy-looking guy on stage, alternately jumping around like a kangaroo, trying (unsuccessfully) to take various pieces of clothing off, and making strange hand gestures. And his singing was appalling. I watched, horrified for a few minutes, amazed that the crowd seemed to know all the words (more than the singer could claim) to the songs, then left in disgust.

I later read that the poorest live act I’ve ever seen was perpetrated by none other than (you guessed it) Ian Brown.

I’d go see Kylie any day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

